Parliament adjourned to Tuesday, 12th October 2021 at 02:00 p.m.

Security Division

Chief of Security is responsible for the security of the parliament haus and reports to the Clerk on security matters and concern. The primary role of the National Parliament Security is to protect the lives of its occupants and its buildings, assets from vandalism, fire, sabotage. Trained security officers are available to assist and direct the movement of the general public within the Parliamentary precincts without disturbing the peace and order.

The National Parliament Security Division provides basic security measures in order to protect the building, its assets and provide a safe and secure environment for Members of Parliament, visitors, diplomats, V.I.Ps on official visits to the Parliament, and Parliamentary Service Staff.

The work of the security branch is enhanced with the following:-

  • 16 x 9 mm fixed cameras mounted on certain key areas, which provide constant mobile surveillance on a 24 hour basis,
  • 6 x 12 inch monitors,
  • 1 x X-ray scanning machine for scanning weapons such as handguns, bombs, boxes and briefcases etcetera,
  • 5 x  hand-held scanners used for physical checks on visitors that go into the building,
  • Security personnel are also trained Police Reservists that provide extra security duties as policemen and women to the Speaker, and the Clerk whenever requested.


Security Division
P O Parliament House, WAIGANI, N.C.D. Port Moresby
Ground Floor- A Block
Ph: +675 3277439/431
Fax: +675 3277480