Parliament adjourned to Tuesday, 12th October 2021 at 02:00 p.m.

Parliamentary Positions



The Parliamentary Service is an Independent bureaucratic machinery of the Legislature which assists the Speaker of Parliament to manage the decision-making processes of the Parliament and established under Section 132 of the Constitution of Papua New Guinea. The Parliamentary Service Structure comes under the Institutional Structure and the core functions consist of:

  • a) The Speaker is the head of the Political Institution of the National Parliament, presides over the legislative processes, in particular, manages the procedures on the floor of Parliament and the Parliamentary Service support the Speaker on the legislations of laws and the general administration of the proceedings of the Chamber Service and;
  • b) The Clerk is the administrative Head of the Parliamentary Service and is primarily responsible for providing executive support, quality administrative, procedural and advisory service to the Speaker, Parliamentary Committee and Members of Parliament in performing their duties in making the laws to benefit and improve the lives of our people in Papua New Guinea. 

The Parliamentary Service since independence has been operating on Public Service Pay Structure until 2014 when the National Parliamentary Service new Pay Structure was put in place. Given this development the organization has undergone an organizational restructure to incorporate the new pay structure and realignment of its function to improve the management and accountability of the organization.

In its endeavor to continue managing its strategic roles and responsibilities effectively, the Parliamentary Service is now seeking suitably qualified, experienced and highly motivated candidates to fill the following wide range of vacant positions as listed below.

The Executive Management roles/positions
The Executive position roles are responsible for providing strategic leadership to their divisions through clear and effective communication of work priorities, for over sighting and coordinating the divisional activities to ensure timely delivery of required deliverables and ensuring that divisional staff are empowered with relevant skills and resources to meet these commitments.

The Senior Management roles/positions:
The Senior Management roles are to develop detailed work plans for improvement and deployment of its resources so as to attain the most attractive short-term goals that are consistent with its strategic objectives and policies.

Senior Professional and Technical roles/positions:
The Senior Professional and Technical roles are to provide technical support to the Executive and Senior Management Team in the delivery and implementation of the planned activities and programs of National Parliamentary Service.

The positions classified at NP10 - NP14, NPEX1 and NPEX2 are contract positions and will attract allowances that includes: housing, vehicle, contract allowance, national parliament service allowance, special domestic market allowance and 25% performance-based gratuity, annually.

Job Descriptions (pdf)

Bills & Papers Division 
Parliament Library Services Division
Members Emoluments Division
Salary Remuneration Commission Division
Information Technology Division
Human Resource Management Division
Employment Relations GESI Officer
Supply & Tenders Board Project Officer
Senior Archives Officer
Corporate Planning & Management Section

Building & Maintenance Division

Building & Maintenance
Senior Gardener

Catering Services Division

Catering Services
Supervisor Cleaning
Admin Officer
Pastry and Baker

Committee Secretariat

Committee Secretariat 
Committee Secretary- Law Order

Education and Civic Division

Administrative Assistant
Coordinator Parliament Services
Coordination Education Services
Coordinator Youth, Women & Religion

Finance Division

Director Finance
Admin. Assistant
Creditor Bank Recon. Officer
Snr Budget Officer

Inter-Parliamentary Relations Division

Administrative Assistant
Inter Parliamentary Relations Officer Wealth and Regional
Inter Parliamentary Relations Officer Laterla and Bi-Lateral

Media Services Division

Media Services

Policy, Planning & Research Division

Policy Officer

Parliamentary Legal Services Division

Parliament Legal Services
Legal Officer

Security Services Division

Security Services
Security Services